My First CosplayMania

DSC_0023

Last October 5, I attended my first Cosplay Mania. This convention has always been hailed as one of the best, if not the best anime/manga/cosplay event in the metro, but I’ve always been unable to attend because of the various workings of fate’s crafty little hands. I’m so glad I got to attend this time, and have a pitstop in the form of my friend Billie and her friends’ art booth: McFoodie!

DSC_0026

I hoarded all of the Shingeki No Kyojin stickers. All. Of. Them. x__x

DSC_0037

Oh yes– I didn’t mention that we were dressed up as Ranma (female) and Ryoga from one of our childhood favorite anime, the classic Ranma 1/2! Here’s a photo of us posing with an adorable little male Ranma cosplayer (who even brought a Kettle.) If this kid watches Ranma, parenting skills +9000 to his mom! (Although I hope she filters out some of the more R18 scenes.)

DSC_0040

Found some good cosplay friends who went as the CGI world’s new heroes: Hiccup, Merida and Jack Frost (These guys have been hanging out with us at conventions since high school, particularly Tish, the PERFECT Merida cosplayer!)

DSC_0056

It’s been 2 weeks since Cinderella opened. And it’s been one of the best rides of my life! I’m incredibly grateful to be working with such funny, talented and positive people– I learned tons from them and so I gave them a tangible manifestation of my love on opening night:  these glass slipper cookies! Two boxes full for the cast and crew who are more magical than fairy dust because they make fairytales come alive in the real world.

After our first gala night, we cleaned up and had cocktails with the audience and other important people. (well the Stepfamily had to clean up at least, we were not gonna go out with our stage makeup on. My post-wig hair refused to cooperate with me, though.)

Anyway, here are some of the snapshots I squeezed in last night.

after2

DSC_0061

DSC_0073

forinstag

And I’m done here. 😀 That’s all, folks! *Cue Bugs Bunny voice and Looney Tunes ending sequence.*

2 comments

Leave a Reply

