Kinda Freakin’ Awesome

So life’s actually been pretty damn cool for such an uncool little hermit girl like me. I’m kind of fangirling over the things that have been happening, which’ve been, as the title says, kinda freakin’ awesome. I’ve been busy dealing and working with the said awesomeness, but I have a bit of downtime today, so here are some of my favorite April/May moments:

DSC_0535

Last April, the unthinkable happened: two of my usually very distant worlds collided! My good theatre friends attended a cosplay convention with me! Two of them even cosplayed for the very first time. My young padawans did very, very well. That’s Dar and Ber, two of my greatest friends from blueREP, cosplaying Luffy and Nami One Piece. Ejay, on my left, tagged along at the last minute and bought tons of awesome geeky trinkets. He’s also a friend from blueREP, but he and I are active in the professional theatre scene now (wohoo!) The Ryoga to my Ranma is Billie, one of my high school best friends and one of the last people from my high-school-best-friend-cosplay-group who still goes to conventions and cosplays with me to this day.

DSC_0537

It was a great first convention for my theatre friends, because together we witnessed a Deadpool cosplayer performing Let It Go from Frozen, complete with Elsa gown costume change! I found the performance on youtube, too. It was hilarious, and the best part is, it would totally make sense for Deadpool to do something like this.

DSC_0543

Later on, a little Anna cosplayer joined him on stage and they re-enacted the For The First Time in Forever reprise!! This is going to be one of my favorite convention memories in a long time.

DSC_0568

The 1st of May was met with my 2nd cosplay competition judging stint ever at Best of Anime Summer Edition. I’ve declined a few previous requests to judge and/or host at various cosplay events due to theatre-related schedule conflicts, so it feels good to have finally made room for this! Plus I got to watch a legit JPop act called Starmarie. They had Japanese fans that flew to the Philippines just to watch them perform. That was pretty intriguing.

DSC_0567

My new phone case is one of those little things you own that make you happy just by looking at them. It was made by Dar’s sister (Dar is the Luffy cosplayer in the first photo!) and is painted entirely with nail polish! In case you can’t recognize the character, that’s Princess Anna from Disney’s Frozen– who is my ultimate Disney princess soulmate– in her “For The First Time In Forever” dress.

DSC_0571

I may be unworthy young but I’m ready! Look ma, my huge crush on Tom Hiddleston was published on local news! I was recently given the honor of being included in Young Star’s 2014 Fresh Produce, an annual list that features the latest of Manila’s emerging young talents. Hold up, uhh, damn what? Me? An “emerging young talent”? Since freaking when? You can’t even begin to fathom my overwhelmed-ness and disbelief, but I’m totally grateful and I promise I won’t let Young Star down. You can read the full article and check out the full list of uber talented kids here.

DSC_0605

I just finished my first week of Rollerblades training for Tanghalang Pilipino’s Sandosenang Sapatos, too! It’s my 2nd professional show after Cinderella. Sometimes I catch myself thinking: I’m doing it! I can’t believe I’m really doing pro theatre! (And then it starts to feel like I’ve been displaced into an alternate universe..)

DSC_0608

I have a terrible sense of balance, so Rollerblading’s been tough but I’ve been pleasantly surprised with my learning curve thus far. I mean, it isn’t the best but it’s still way better than what I expected from myself. Maybe it’s ’cause I learned how to skateboard beforehand…? But anyway, the fact that this is my first foray into Filipino material is something I’m dang psyched about, and I’m happy to be working with actors from a wide variety of backgrounds/companies. So many new things are happening, and it’s all because of theatre! Actually, theatre makes me do/try new things every single time. That’s one of the reasons why I love it so dearly.

DSC_0613

I also attended the Young Star Prom (though I’ll always feel way too uncool for these media parties) with THE Ejay Yatco. He’s technically my first prom date ever– I’m a little late in the game, but when your first prom date is a musical genius informally hailed as the Ryan Cayabyab of our generation, I still feel like a winner!

DSC_0619

The theme was prom Kla$$Y which actually meant go in something ratchet. I didn’t wanna wear a “trashy/revealing” outfit, so Ejay and I opted for a wannabe prince/princess-of-Bel-Air look. I think we look pretty convincing as tasteless, spoiled kids.

makeup

Another thing that’s been making me happy: a (finally restocked) set of makeup basics that’s been unlocking my inner makeup geek! I think I’ve found some makeup products I’m going to be sticking with for life– err, until I find better products. No absolute commitment guaranteed. Haha! I don’t like wearing makeup everyday, and I don’t like looking “made-up,” so these are the products I’ve been using when I feel obliged to decorate my face but don’t want it to look like fondant cake, and don’t want the hassles of retouching. In short, heavy duty, natural-looking war paint! Clockwise from the top right: 1) Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in 415 Pink In The Afternoon (the prettiest nude pink. Like the pink you think of when you think of ballerinas!), 2) 3CE Lip Lacquer in Pink Boom, 3) Canmake Smooth Skin Primer, 4) Milani Liquid Eye, 5) Kate Mineral Liquid Foundation (my personal holy grail foundation! Does a great job and doesn’t break me out!), 6) Milani Baked Blush in 05 Luminoso (a Nars Orgasm dupe!), 7) Revlon in Super Lustrous Lipstick in 535 Rum Raisin (a brown-red for days you want a stronger lip without having to plunge into a bright red), 8) 3CE Eye Brightener in Ivory Beige.

Whew, that’s it so far. I remember February to March being an anxiety-filled set of months for me. I was going through all sorts of auditions and interviews at the time, putting on my best possible brave face amidst all the uncertainty and insecurity and trying very hard to make the coming months something I would be proud of… It feels surreal to admit, but I think I’ve succeeded. (Which means my brave face has been getting braver. Awwwyeah) But I actually may have kiiind of overloaded my schedule… Even better! Ain’t no rest for the awkweird wicked though, I’ve gotta keep up the persistence and consistence. Aight, downtime over. Back to work play now!

Leave a Reply

